Four More Countries Join Protest Against Hungary

News Comments Off

Support for the strong condemnation of the new Hungarian anti-LGBTI law by the Netherlands and a dozen other EU countries has continued to grow. Another four Member States have now joined.


A good number of EU leaders want to address their Hungarian counterpart Viktor Orbán about the issue at the EU summit in Brussels on Thursday, diplomats say.

The thirteen countries have been reinforced by Italy, Austria, Greece and Cyprus. Portugal also expressed its support on Tuesday evening for the statement drawn up at the initiative of the Benelux countries but did not sign it. Portugal holds the presidency of the EU this six months and should therefore exercise restraint in such matters.

Foreign Minister Sigrid Kaag already expressed the expectation on Tuesday that more countries would join. Seven Eastern European countries, including Hungary itself, and Malta do not support the condemnation of the Hungarian law.

The approval of eighteen countries is not enough for a major criminal procedure that could ultimately curtail the voting rights of a member state within the union. Such a procedure is already underway against Hungary for a different reason, but it has been stalled for a long time and seems to be coming to nothing.



Back to Top

Skip to toolbar